Interesting areas of Tuscany

More about ‘Interesting areas of Tuscany

Provinces of Tuscany

Provinces of Tuscany

The Italian Region of Tuscany is divided into ten provinces which exhibit considerable diversity in terms of size, geomorphology, landscape and towns. Some Tuscan provinces are on the coast while others are inland, some have large flat areas while most are very hilly. This diversity makes Tuscany an endlessly interesting place to visit at any time of the year.



Monteriggioni is one of the most famous and attractive castles in all Tuscany. Its curtain wall and fourteen towers are virtually intact, and the interior is now occupied by a small and peaceful village.



Sienna (Siena in Italian) is second only to Florence as a Tuscan “art” town, and, for many, its much smaller size and the absence of traffic in the historical centre make it more than the equal of Florence as a place to enjoy the treasures of Romanesque and Renaissance Italy, as well as the modern Italian lifestyle.

Bagni di San Filippo

Bagni di San Filippo calcium terraces

Bagni di San Filippo, in the province of Grosseto, is situated among the fascinating “crete” of the Val d’Orcia and the woods of Monte Amiata. This is one of Tuscany’s most spectacular spa resorts thanks to the presence of white limestone deposits which wind magically through the surrounding greenery.

Things to see in Tuscany

Things to see in tuscany

As one would expect from a region with a rich three thousand year history, Tuscany is packed with interesting sights and each visitor should decide ahead of time on which attractions to concentrate. The “art cities” of Florence, Lucca, Sienna and Pisa are packed with artistic and architectural attractions to which only a good guide book (or two or three) can do justice. Do your homework before you leave.

Val d’Orcia


The Val d’Orcia is one of the most diverse and yet distinctive areas in Tuscany, Italy, and the landscape of the Val d’Orcia has been designated a UNESCO world heritage centre. The Valdorcia is more than just the valley of the river Orcia.

The Maremma of Tuscany, Italy

Maremma map

The Maremma is a geographical area covering part of western Tuscany, notably the Province of Grosseto, and a small part of northern Latium (Lazio). It can be divided into the Alta Maremma (upper or northern Maremma) which borders on the Provinces of Sienna and Pisa, and Bassa Maremma (lower or southern Maremma) south of Grosseto and around the Costa d’Argento.

Tuscany Italy

Tuscany Italy

This is the site map for our Tuscany, Italy, website. To make the best use of our web site we advise returning to the home page or utilising the navigation menu to the left.