Provinces of Tuscany

More about ‘Provinces of Tuscany

Provinces of Tuscany

Provinces of Tuscany

The Italian Region of Tuscany is divided into ten provinces which exhibit considerable diversity in terms of size, geomorphology, landscape and towns. Some Tuscan provinces are on the coast while others are inland, some have large flat areas while most are very hilly. This diversity makes Tuscany an endlessly interesting place to visit at any time of the year.

Province of Prato

Medici Villa at Poggio a Caiano

The Province of Prato (Provincia di Prato) dates from as recently as 1992. The province is located in the Region of Tuscany and was formed from part of the Province of Florence. At that time, Prato was the third largest city in central Italy, after Rome and Florence, and was the largest city in Italy that was not the capital of a province.

Province of Pistoia

Giostra dell’Orso in Pistoia

Pistoia, the city from which the province takes its name, is probably the principal not-to-be-missed sight in the province and yet it is unjustly neglected by visitors to Tuscany. Pistoia is just 40 km from Florence and from Lucca. More about Pistoia.